ELECTION RESULTS: Charlotte Democratic Primary

CHARLOTTE — Charlotte Democrats and unaffiliated voters hit the polls Tuesday to cast their ballots in the Charlotte City Council Democratic primary. There are no Republicans with primary challenges.

The election turnout was 23,676 out of a possible 482,577 voters, or 4.91%.


Charlotte Mayor

  • Vi Lyles: 20,037; 85.37%
  • Lucille Puckett: 3,433; 14.63%

At-large (Top 4)

  • Dimple Ajmera: 19,102; 21.66%
  • LaWana Slack-Mayfield: 17,518; 19.86%
  • James (Smuggie) Mitchell, Jr.: 16,622; 18.85%
  • Victoria Watlington: 15,761; 17.87%
  • Charlene Henderson El: 11,403; 12.93%
  • Ben Copeland: 7,788; 8.83%

District 2

  • Malcolm Graham: 3,059; 74.12%
  • Gary Linn Young II: 1,068; 25.88%

District 3

  • Tiawana Deling Brown: 1,807; 60%
  • Warren F. Turner: 887; 30%
  • Melinda Lilly: 313; 10.4%

District 4

  • Renee Perkins Johnson: 2,103; 52.27%
  • Will Russell: 1,647; 40.94%
  • Olivia Scott: 273; 6.79%

District 5

  • Majorie Molina: 1,913; 53.29%
  • Curtis M. Hayes, Jr.: 1,068; 29.75%
  • Vinroy Reid: 609; 16.96%

Click here for the State Board of Election website.

*All results are unofficial until they are canvassed.

Mayor race: Mayor Vi Lyles won the primary against Lucille Puckett. Lyles will face Republican Misun Kim and Libertarian Rob Yates.

At-large: Dimple Ajmera, LaWana Slack-Mayfield, James Smuggie Mitchell, and Victoria Watlington will advance to the November elections. Libertarian Steve DiFiore will also be on the ballot.

District 2: Malcolm Graham has defeated Gary Young and will serve another term.

District 3: Political reporter Joe Bruno officially projected that Tiawana Brown defeated Warren Turner and Melinda Lilly. Brown will move on to face Republican James Bowers in November.

The district stretches from South End to Steele Creek, which includes much of west Charlotte. Turner has refused to answer questions about his past, including a 2010 city investigation that found he sexually harassed city employees when he was on the Charlotte City Council.

He has instead criticized his opponent, Brown, incorrectly referring to her as a habitual felon and claiming she doesn’t actually run her nonprofit.

Brown says he is lying.

District 4: Wil Russell conceded to Incumbent Renee Johnson.

Lyles backed Russell, an affordable housing developer and member of the Planning Commission. She’s paid for mailers, done radio ads, and has campaigned for him.

District 5: Marjorie Molina has defeated Curtis Hayes and Vinroy Reid and will serve another term.